Skip to content

Next Move Jamaica names six inaugural scholarship winners

Next Move Jamaica names six inaugural scholarship winners

OMAR Rolando Wright, a straight 'A' student of Excelsior High School, has been named among six secondary school students who have won Edna Green Endowed Scholarships offered by Jamaica's first and leading online scholarship database -- Next Move Jamaica Limited (NMJ).

The scholarships are expected to cover the students' school fees and other school expenses for the 2011/2012 academic year.

The students were honoured at a recent award ceremony held at the General Accident Insurance Company Limited corporate office, at 58 Half-Way-Tree Road, St Andrew.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, president and CEO of Next Move Jamaica, Christopher A Grant said the scholarships were the first of many scholarships and grants that are to be issued in the coming year.

"We intend to increase the number of awards and the scholarship amounts by the next academic year by encouraging more individuals and organisations to donate to the Next Move Jamaica Scholarship Fund, or by directly sponsoring a student or a school," he said.

"We are, therefore, inviting companies, organisations and individuals to come on board as a donor, sponsor or advertiser on our highly trafficked website that attracts a most discerning student and parent population," Grant continued.

He said the inaugural scholarships were partially donated by a Jamaican-born corporate lawyer who currently works on Wall Street in New York and were named in honour of her grandmother, Edna Green. Grant said the sponsor wished to remain anonymous.

He said further funding came from revenue generated by Next Move Jamaica, through website advertisement and other donations. To that end he lauded Corporate Jamaica for their support and the nominees in the Scholarship Award programme who, he said, impressed the Scholarship Committee with their academic records and exemplary writing abilities as demonstrated in the essays, which accompanied their applications.

The recipients are: Omar Wright from Excelsior High School; Bennice Campbell from St Catherine High School; Paula Martin from St Jago High School; Annalisa Anderson from Mona High School; Martina Martin from Jonathan Grant High School; and Daena Sang from Campion College.